From Folk to Pop

Themes and Variations


From Folk to Pop is a set of lesson plans for Grades 3-8 based on traditional folk songs that have been recorded by rock singers and found their way to the pop charts. The lessons include learning to sing the song, creating and adding accompaniments and descants and playing the song on instruments. The collection also includes a history of the song, listening activities and YouTube links to compare the traditional with the pop version. There are assessment suggestions and rubrics included.  The collection includes reproducibles, piano/vocal scores and a perf/acc CD.

Intended Grades:

Grade 3 - Grade 8

Materials Included

In the printed product:
- Printed Book / Audio CD
- Digital Book PDF / Audio MP3
- Projectable PDF
In the download edition:
- Digital Book PDF / Audio MP3
- Projectable PDF

In the CD product:
- Audio MP3
- Projectable PDF

To get your download edition, add this product to your cart. After you go through the checkout process, a download link will appear. You will also receive an email with a link to your download. If you purchased a printed book with CD you will also receive a download version of the book and the CD. This is to ensure that users without disk drives will still be able to use the disk's contents. When you order a print book/CD you will also receive a download edition at no extra charge. You can use the download materials as reference right away, and will receive the print book/CD in a few days.

Pop Artists Include:

1. Bruce Springstein (Oh, Mary Don't You Weep, Erie Canal)
2. Elvis (My Landlord)
3. The Beach Boys (John B. Sails)
4. Lead Belly (Midnight Special)
5. Great Big Sea (Donkey Riding) 
6. The Kingston Trio (Pay Me My Money Down)


Audio: Oh, Mary Don't You Weep
Audio: Erie Canal
Book: From Folk to Pop
Projectable: From Folk to Pop